Date of Award


Document Type


Degree Name

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Legacy Department

Educational Leadership


Satterfield, James W

Committee Member

Gonzales , Leslie

Committee Member

Brewer , Curtis

Committee Member

Warner , Cheryl


The General Assembly of South Carolina radically changed the structure of secondary education with the enactment of the Education and Economic Development Act (EEDA) of 2005. A provision in the legislation requires post-secondary institutions to develop articulation agreements with secondary institutions in their service area(s). Traditionally, articulation agreements between secondary and post-secondary institutions have been few and far between. The question then becomes how articulation agreements are developed from the post-secondary perspective. Spartanburg Community College is one of the sixteen technical/community colleges in South Carolina. The development of articulation agreements is examined at Spartanburg Community College using the lens of path dependence, neo institutionalism, and resource dependency as a guide. History is used as a means of describing the process as a manifestation of the changing environment within Spartanburg County through time.